Museums * Plantations * Heritage * Weddings

Museums *  Plantations * Heritage * Weddings

From the settlers who first came to Tennessee, to the beginning residents who put down roots as farmers and politicians in our great state as it developed westward, Tennessee has a rich history which starts in the early 1800's, through the Civil War, and on through, all of which shaped the destiny of our great state.  Did you know there was an Elephant Sanctuary?  Or a museum just for children or a hands-on museum?  How about flight simulators and wind tunnels at Arnold Air Force Base, open to the public?  Did you know there were Amish who migrated to Tennessee? There are historic markers scattered throughout our part of Tennessee also, just waiting for you to discover them. Imagine having your wedding or special event at one of these amazing plantations.

history heritage frontiersmen

1) AMISH WELCOME CENTER – 4001 Hwy 43 N. Ethridge, TN Oldest and only Museum Farmhouse and One Room Schoolhouse. 931-829-2433

2) AMUSE’UM – 123 W. 7th St, Columbia, TN 931-223-6337 Children’s Museum Mon-Sat 10 am - 2 pm. 

3) ARNOLD ENGINEERING DEVELOPMENT COMPLEX – Arnold Air Force Base near Tullahoma, TN. Huge wind tunnels simulate fl ight for satellites, supersonic & transonic aircraft & spacecraft. Group tours welcome. 931-454-4204

4) ARROWHEADS TO AEROSPACE MUSEUM – 24 Campground Rd., Manchester. Chartered in 1987 to showcase history of Coffee Co. & area. (931) 723-1323

5) THE ATHENAEUM RECTORY – 808 Athenaeum St., Columbia. Tours: Feb.-3rd week in Dec.; Tues.-Sat., 10am-4pm. Admission charged. (931) 381-4822

6) BATTLE OF FARMINGTON CIVIL WAR SITE – 2236 Hwy. 64, Lewisburg. Site served as the only military action of any consequence in Marshall Co. in 1863. Monument erected in 1874 to commemorate buried soldiers.

7) BEECHCRAFT HERITAGE MUSEUM – 570 Old Shelbyville Hwy., Tullahoma. “Living & working” museum traces the lineage of the Beechcraft family of airplanes. The 60,000-sq.-ft. site houses 24 aircraft, aviation artifacts & memorabilia. Open March-Nov. (931) 455-1974, 

8) CEDAR GROVE IRON FURNACE – South of Hwy. 412 W., Linden. Last remaining double-stack iron furnace on the Western Highland Rim. It was shelled by Union troops in the Civil War. (931) 589-2453. Directions: 

9) COLLINWOOD TRAIN DEPOT – 101 E. Depot St., Collinwood. On National Historic Register. See art & memorabilia; public library. 

10) COWAN RAILROAD MUSEUM – 108 Front St., Cowan. The railroad has been an integral part of Cowan since 1849, when a tunnel was bored through the mountain 2 miles southeast of town. Open May-Oct.; Thur.-Sat., 10am-4pm; Sun., 1-4pm. (931) 967-3078, 

11) DAVID CROCKETT MUSEUM – Lawrenceburg Sq. Lifesize bronze statue of Lawrence Co.’s famous son: frontiersman, soldier, legislator & hero of the Alamo. (931) 762-3733

12) THE ELEPHANT SANCTUARY WELCOME CENTER – 27 E. Main St., Hohenwald. This learning center has educational exhibits & gift shop. (931) 796-6500, 

13) ELM SPRINGS HOME – 740 Mooresville Pk., Columbia. Mon.-Fri., 9am-5pm. Admission charged; group rates available. Weddings and Events. (931) 380-1844, 

14) FALLS MILL & COUNTRY STORE – 134 Falls Mill Rd., Belvidere. On National Historic Register. Water-powered grain mill est. 1873, museum & country store. Open daily except Wed. & Sun. (931) 469-7161, 

15) GILES CO. COURTHOUSE – Pulaski Sq. 1909 Neoclassical building featuring Corinthian columns, solid brass door pulls incised “Giles,” inside balcony encircling 3rd fl oor, caryatids (female faces) holding up arched vault of rotunda with skylight. Free. Mon.-Fri., 8am-4pm. (931) 363-5300, 

16) GORDON HOUSE – located on the Natchez Trace Parkway. It was built 1817-1818 by Capt. John Gordon, a prominent early settler. His acclaim as a fearless fighter and spy was acknowledged from Nashville to Natchez. (931) 726-5300, 

17) GRINDER’S SWITCH MUSEUM – 405 West Public Square, Centerville. Houses the Grinder’s Switch Museum dedicated to preserving the life and times of Minnie Pearl along with memorabilia of Del Reeves, Blake Shelton & Beth Slater Whitson. Home to the Grinder’s Switch Radio Hour. Center is open Mon.-Fri. 8am-4pm, Sat. 9:30am-noon. (931) 729-5774, 

18) HANDS ON SCIENCE CENTER – 101 Mitchell Blvd., Tullahoma. Indoor science playground where “Please Touch” is the rule! Over 80 hands-on exhibits. Tues.-Sat., 10am-5pm; Sun., 1-5pm. (931) 455-8387, 

19) HISTORIC DOWNTOWN FAYETTEVILLE & WALKING TOURS – Fayetteville. See beautiful grand mansions, B&B’s, & historic homes like the old Goodrich House at S. Elk Ave. & Maple St.; more on Mulberry Ave. & Washington St.

20) HOHENWALD DEPOT – 112 E. Main St., Hohenwald. Railroad enthusiasts will enjoy the original 1896 N.C. & St. L. depot. Open only during special events; interior exhibits are visible from the outside. 

21) JAMES D. VAUGHAN SOUTHERN GOSPEL MUSIC MUSEUM – 31 Public Sq., Lawrenceburg. Celebrate the birthplace of southern gospel music. (931) 726-8991. 

22) JUBILEE HILLS – 1560 Cornersville Road, Lewisburg, TN. Classic elegance, gracious hospitality and complete serenity. Wedding or Special Event this 100 acre estate venue provides the perfect backdrop for your event. 931-652-7075. 

23) LAIRDLAND FARMHOUSE & CIVIL WAR MUSEUM – 3238 Blackburn Hollow Rd., Cornersville. View historic home & Civil War artifacts by appointment only. Reserve for luncheons, teas, weddings & receptions. (931) 363-2205. 

24) LEWIS CO. MUSEUM & DISCOVERY CENTER – 108 E. Main, Hohenwald. Exotic animal mounts from around the globe & historic artifacts from Lewis Co. Tues.-Sat., 10am-4pm, Sun., 1-4pm. Admission charged. (931) 796-1550. 

25) LINCOLN CO. MUSEUM – 521 Main Ave. S., Fayetteville. Former Borden Milk Plant renovated to showcase history of the area including exhibits on Native American artifacts & fossils, Lincoln Co. Fair harness racing, agriculture & theevolution of farming, space & missiles. (931) 438-0339, 

26) LINDEN-PERRY CO. COURTHOUSE – Linden. On National Historic Register. Constructed from 1928-29; a classic example of early 20th-century public architecture with an unusual 2nd-story public gallery. 

27) LYNNVILLE RAILROAD MUSEUM – 162 Mill St., Lynnville. Visit depot replica; see memorabilia, scale model trains, trackside “static” display of 1927 Baldwin steam locomotive, a Pullman passenger coach, fl atcar, & caboose. (931) 527-3158, 

28) MARSHALL CO. HISTORICAL MUSEUM – 230 College St., Lewisburg. Est. 1996 by Marshall Co. Historical Society to showcase primitive tools, handmade furniture, World War I & II memorabilia, vintage clothing & more. Free. (931) 270-0010

29) MATT GARDNER HOMESTEAD MUSEUM – 110 Dixon Town Rd., Elkton. (931)309-9695, 

30) MAURY CO. ARCHIVES – 201 E. 6th St., Columbia. One of TN’s only county archives to have records dating back to its 1808 founding. Search genealogy records for families in Maury Co., surrounding areas & TN. (931) 375-1501

31) MERIWETHER LEWIS GRAVE, NATIONAL MONUMENT & NATIONAL PARK – On the Natchez Trace Pkwy, Lewis Co. The leader of the Lewis & Clark Expedition is buried here where he died mysteriously in 1809. The National Park Service maintains the site & exhibits, picnicking & camping areas, & hiking trails.

32) MILKY WAY FARM & MANSION – 520 Milky Way Rd., Pulaski. Founded by Frank Mars, the inventor of the Milky Way Bar. The 1,100 acres of beautiful rolling hills include the manor house with 21 bedrooms & 15 bathrooms, outdoor horse track, & horse barns. Great for weddings & events. (931) 808-2281, 

33) MITCHELL MUSEUM – 404 S. Jackson St, Tullahoma, TN 931-455-5321

34) MOORE CO. JAIL MUSEUM – 231 Main St., Lynchburg. Open March-Mid Dec., Thurs.-Sat., noon-3pm. (931) 993-1791, 

35) MT. PLEASANT-MAURY CO. PHOSPHATE MUSEUM – 108 Public Sq., Mt. Pleasant. Antique farm implements & more. 4 special exhibits yearly. (931)379-9511

36) NATCHEZ TRACE PKWY WELCOME CENTER – Off mile marker 355, Collinwood. The National Scenic Byway & Parkway runs 444 miles from Nashville to Natchez, MS, with numerous picnic areas, historic sites, walking trails, & more. (931) 724-4347, 

37) NATHAN BEDFORD FORREST BOYHOOD HOME – 4435 Pyles Rd., Chapel Hill. (615) 833-8977

38) OLD GRAVEYARD MEMORIAL PARK – South side, between 1st & 2nd Sts., Pulaski. Cemetery used 1817-1883, contains graves of early settlers; rededicated in 1969. Open all year. Free. (931) 363-3789

39) OLD JAIL MUSEUM – 400 Dinah Shore Blvd., Winchester. Where it’s fun… to go to jail! See an old cell, loom & spinning wheel, Native American artifacts, Civil War uniforms, cannon, handcuffs, & leg irons, & Winchester native Dinah Shore mementos. Open mid-March-mid-Nov., Tues.-Sat., 10AM-4:30PM, (931)967-0524

40) OLD JAIL MUSEUM - Waterloo Street, Lawrenceburg. Open Tues-Thurs 10-2pm Built 1893 & used till 1973. Cells and Bunks still intact. 

41) POWDER MILL HILL - 4654-4798 Powdermill Hill Rd, Lawrenceburg, TN

42) PRESIDENT JAMES K. POLK ANCESTRAL HOME & PRESIDENTIAL HALL – 301 W. 7th St., Columbia. Open April-Oct., Mon.-Sat., 9am-5pm, Sun., 1-5pm; Nov.-Mar., 9am-4pm; Sun., 1-5pm. Admission charged, call for group rates. (931)388-2354 

43) PULASKI HISTORIC SQUARE – Public Sq. & 1st St., Pulaski. A National Historic District. 18th- & 19th-century architecture is declared by TN Historical Commission to be one of the fi nest squares in Middle TN. (931) 363-3789

44) RIPPAVILLA PLANTATION – 5700 Main St., Spring Hill. Open Mon.-Sat., 9:30am-4:30pm; Sun., 1-4:30pm. Last tour begins at 3:30pm. Winter hours: Dec. 15-March, Tues.-Sat., 10am-4pm. Sun. 1-4pm. Last tour begins at 3pm. Admission charged. (931) 486-9037 Great place to have your wedding. 

45) SAINT JOHN’S CHURCH – Hwy. 243, Mount Pleasant. On National Historic Register. Graveyard holds slaves & masters, Civil War privates & generals, the Episcopal faithful & their Bishops.

46) SAM DAVIS MUSEUM of the Confederacy” was hanged. The tiny museum, built in 1950, holds 145 items relating to his life & legacy. Open 3rd Sun. of every month (except holidays), 1-4pm. Tours by appointment. (931) 424-4044

47) TN MUSEUM OF EARLY FARM LIFE – US Hwy. 31, Spring Hill. Behind Rippavilla Plantation. More than 500 items on display. Open April-Oct., Fri. & Sat., 9am-3:30pm. Admission charged. (931) 381-3686

48) TN WALKING HORSE BREEDERS’ & EXHIBITORS’ ASSOCIATION – 250 N. Ellington Pkwy., Lewisburg. World headquarters for the TWH industry. Garden, gift shop, & literature available. Mon.-Fri., 9am-4pm. (931)359-1574, 

49) TN WALKING HORSE NATIONAL MUSEUM located in Downtown Wartrace, TN. The only museum dedicated entirely to the Tennessee Walking Horse. Contains
exhibits on all aspects of the Walking Horse industry. Fri & Sat 10 - 4

50) TRAIL OF TEARS INTERPRETIVE CENTER – 220 Stadium St. Pulaski. Cherokee family statue and an overlook of a site where the Trail route crossed Richland Removal Act of 1838-1839 and how the Bell and Benge routes intersect in Giles County. (931) 424-4044 


Besides the beauty of our countryside, the splendor of our seasons and the warmth of our people, here are some unique things about our counties, cities and towns:

Download the latest South Central Tennessee Vacation Guide here:

pdfSCT Visitors Guide 2018 Final.pdf

Jack Trail GeoTour        Nashville Trace Trail      Jack Trail      Tennessee River Trails       old-tenn-trail    

Looking for more information on the Trails?  Click on any logo above.

sctta logo

Have an event to add to our calendar?  Email:  Rene Lance

Download the latest Vacation Guide here:  
pdfSCT Visitors Guide 2018 Final.pdf

Rene Lance, Executive Director
South Central Tennessee Tourism Association

3780 Franklin Pike
Lewisburg, TN 37091
Phone: (931) 993-3286

The Counties of South Central Tennessee

Latest Events

Tennessee State Parks     Pick Tennessee Products   logo-made-in-tennessee-75       South Central Tennessee Tourism Association